The innings that should have ended with one run have been extended to four runs. This is the argument of the San Diego Padres. It seems clear that this is an unfortunate situation.

San Diego knelt 2-4 in a game against the San Francisco Giants held at Oracle Park in San Francisco on the 22nd (Korean time).카지노

Starting pitcher Yu Darvish, who threw well until the 4th inning, gave up 4 runs at once in the 5th inning, and the game slanted.

Let’s look at situation 5 first. San Francisco took the opportunity to safely load the bases with consecutive infield hits by leaders Luis Matos and Blake Sayball, and a walk by David Villa. Then, San Francisco took the lead with Brandon Crawford’s sacrifice fly to left field, and Casey Schmidt struck out and seemed to miss the chance to score.

However, the next hitter, Zak Pederson, hit to the right. San Diego right fielder Fernando Tatis Jr. threw home a bullet-like throw, allowing catcher Gary Sanchez to tag out second base runner Seiball who ran out of the third base line. It was a situation where the inning should have ended.

At this time, the San Francisco bench requested a challenge. It is argued that catcher Sanchez blocked Sayball’s sliding path. After reading the video for more than two minutes, the decision was safe. San Diego manager Bob Melvin ran out and protested vehemently to umpire Quinn Walcott, but to no avail. Walcott referee ejected manager Melvin.

Looking at the replay screen, it was an ambiguous situation where I couldn’t be sure which one was correct. New York’s reading center and umpire Walcourt judged that it was a rule violation because catcher Sanchez was blocking the third base line in front of home plate. The catcher was supposed to open the runner’s path when he didn’t have the ball, but he didn’t.

MLB Rule 6.01(i)(2) states, ‘When the catcher does not have the ball, he must not obstruct runners attempting to score. If the catcher obstructs a runner while not in possession of the ball, he may, in the judgment of the umpire, call the runner safe. However, it can be interpreted that it is not a violation of this rule if you block the runner’s path while making a legitimate defense (movement) to catch the thrown ball.’ Home collision avoidance regulations.

Manager Melvin insisted that Sanchez only moved naturally in front of the home plate to catch Tatis Jr.’s throw, but umpire Walcourt had a different idea.

In the end, the score widened to 0-2, and San Francisco ran away to 4-0 by adding two points with consecutive timely hits by Mike Yastrzemski and JD Davis in continued second-out 1st and 3rd base chances.

In the top of the 7th inning, Ha-seong Kim, who had hit a runner out grounder, made up a point by stepping home with a timely hit by Trent Grisham after stealing second base. could not narrow down

After the game, manager Melvin said in an interview with local media, “Sanchez moved because Tatis’ throw went that way.” “The catcher has to determine where the throw is going, and move towards the ball while checking where the runner is. In my opinion, this is the worst challenge reversal this season,” he burst into anger.

Texas Rangers coach Bruce Bochy, who lost 6-7 against the Chicago White Sox the previous day, was sent off while appealing for the same situation. This means that it is a rule that must be applied vaguely depending on the situation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *